American Psycho (book review)- fuck this shit…

Tags: boring, don-t-read-this, fuck-this-shit, i-wish-i-didn-t-bother, meh

Recommend it to: Not one soul in the universe or maybe… men who really hate women ‘Kill ’em baby!’ That’s what this book inspires such men to do.

Recommended to me by: Not one soul in the universe

Stars: 3 out of 10

I thought i could never hate a book. It felt like a defense mechanism for all the books out there but this…
Yeah… yeah… i know. There’s a movie and it’s fuckin brilliant, brutal and horrifying… like in a way a good thriller should be. But this….
Huh…
Why did i even try? I spent a month STRUGGLING to go through the pages. And it felt so fucking LONG AND BORING. I mean, i soooooo much wanted to pick a flamethrower and get it over with.
My TBR was overflowing. And still… THIS… huh… fuck me…
Yup. No grit or blood or slash horrified me. I just shrugged it like it wasn’t there. Graphic violence or language… meh… And maybe you shouldn’t blame the book. Coz, i’ve read A LOT of James Patterson and J onathan Kellerman and none of the bloody or violent scenes seem scary or disturbing to me as before. It’s like whenever i come across such a scene, i just want it to fucking end even if the poor characters have to get the heads slashed and bashed. I just don’t bother anymore.
And the plot didn’t seem much intriguing to me. Or different. He kills women, he kills men, he kills PEOPLE. Hear that, people. He’s a serial killer. Shocker. Is there something else going on? Hmmm…. apparently not.

And… guess what… it’s from our psychopath’s perspective! What, oh what could we want more? But seriously, nothing can get darker or dumber than this.

The graphic description of sex, animal cruelty, and the extreme and lavish killing to top it off. Disgusting.

I knew where this all was going and yet i still don’t know why i wanted to give it a chance till the end. Perhaps, i wanted it to live up the hype or just prove me wrong till the end or because the movie was good, so i thought maybe…. but boy was i wrong.
I don’t think my review and experience should be considered a worthy analysis of the novel. I mean, there were certain factors involved driving me to despise this book as much, like my current interests which mostly revolve around YA or even my mood. Either way, i doubted that this book was worth it. And still… i wasted a MONTH. Like… you can read a dozen of light, easy, enjoyable YAs in this amount of time.
Don’t try it. It’s not worth it. Look at me. I repent.

P.S. The memes are WAY better. Check them out instead.

Leave a comment